This is the Christ

Image

 

In the above video is line that strikes me every time I hear it.  “How many drops of blood were spilt for me?”.  At times the atonement of Jesus Christ can seem large and overwhelming.  Even to the point that it becomes distant and un-relatible.  If I asked you to visualise $100, you could see it.  Correct?  Maybe you see 100 single dollar bills or a few twenties.  If I asked you to visualize $1000 you could probably still see it in your minds eye, or even in your own bank account.  If I asked you to visualise one billion dollars though, could you still do that?  Of course a billion dollars is quite the sum of money.  But when we get to that sum we become distant and our ability to reason becomes more difficult.  There are 9 planets in the solar system.  There are Billions of stars in out galaxy with billions more planets orbiting those stars.  By this point we began to disengage with the amount.  It becomes impersonal.  We can imagine 9 planets, and $100 but the greater the number the less we relate.

This is the same with the atonement of Jesus Christ.  The word alone has much meaning.  We are taught how much this word means, starting at a young age.  Every sin ever comitted by any person who has ever or will ever live is covered by this sacrifice.  Christ took them all on.  He bled from every pore with agony and grief in gethesmony so that we may all be covered by this perfect act.  At times this can seem overwhelming to the point that it becomes something we think about, but something we don’t engage with.  

At 2:44 in the above video, the Mormon Tabernacle Choir asks “How many drops of blood were spilled for me?”  Have we ever asked ourselves that question?  How many drops of precious blood did the saviour and redeemer spill for me?  How many tears left the eyes of the Creator of the world on my behalf?  The Atonement of Jesus Christ is infinitely large as it is infinitely covering.  Sometimes it is difficult to realize how personal this sacrifice is.  Christ died for the world… but he also died for me.  Is it hard to believe that I, a 20 year old kid from Omaha, NE, passed though his mind in Gethsemane?  

I testify that as we make the Atonement more personal, Christ will be a more personal part of our lives.  

I read His words, the words He prayed
While bearing sorrow in Gethsemane;
I feel His love, the price He paid.
How many drops of blood were spilled for me?

With saints of old in joyful cry
I too can testify; This is the Christ

